People come from all over the East Coast to enjoy Atlantic City. Like Las Vegas, Atlantic City offers all kinds of legal (and illegal) entertainment for those seeking a good time. For some people, having a good time could have serious negative consequences. Getting behind the wheel of a car after having a few drinks at the casino could end up costing you a lot.
If you are facing quasi-criminal charges related to a DWI offense, you need the help of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. An attorney can review the details of your arrest and charges to determine what options are available to you. Such help can minimize the impact of DWI charges.
DWI charges result in hefty consequences in New Jersey
New Jersey takes intoxicated driving very seriously. The severity of your charges will depend on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest or traffic stop. For those who have a BAC of 0.08 percent but under 0.10 percent, standard DWI charges apply. New Jersey has increased punishments for those whose BAC is 0.10 percent or higher while operating a motor vehicle. For those with a BAC of more than 0.10 percent, the consequences are steeper, including higher fines, longer loss of your license and even more time in jail for your DWI charge.
For those with a BAC of under 0.10 percent, a guilty plea or conviction for a first offense will result in a fine of $200 to $400, a requirement of 12-48 hours of alcohol education and up to 30 days in prison. They will also lose their license for three months and face several other fines and fees. Any second offense for a DWI may result in losing driving privileges for two years, a fine of between $500 and $1,000, between 2 and 90 days in prison, 30 days of community service and 12-48 hours of alcohol courses. Third offenses result in a 10-year license suspension, a fine of $1,000 and 180 days in prison.
An attorney can help you minimize the impact of your charges
When it comes to DWI charges in New Jersey, what happens in Atlantic City won't necessary stay there. DWI charges can change your life. Losing your license and spending time in jail may cost you your job. The best way to minimize the fallout of being charged with a DWI offense is to contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Do not confess or agree to plead guilty until you have spoken with a private defense attorney. He or she can help divert your charges in favor of substance abuse education or help you mount an active defense in court, if needed.