Gun control laws in New Jersey are quite strict and differ greatly from a large portion of the country. There are different laws regarding gun possession in the state as well as who can and cannot own a gun. So, what are the gun control laws in New Jersey?
New Jersey does not permit the sale of sawed-off shotguns, armor penetrating bullets or silencers. There is a 30-day waiting period for handgun licenses and a 45-day waiting period for non-resident license applications. People convicted of most felonies are not permitted to own a gun in the state of New Jersey.
Other items deemed illegal in New Jersey include the following:
– imitation firearm (intended for unlawful use)
– defaced firearms
– stun guns
– machine guns or assault firearms if unlicensed
Those who may not own a firearm in the state of New Jersey include anyone who has been convicted of the following:
– aggravated assault
– aggravated sexual assault
– sexual assault
– any order prohibiting possession of firearms
Any person committed for a mental disorder cannot own a gun in New Jersey unless he or she has documented proof he or she no longer suffers from the disorder that would normally interfere with that person handling a gun.
Any person who has been convicted of the unlawful use, possession of or sale of a dangerous controlled substance. Any minor under the age of 18 cannot own a gun in New Jersey.
Anyone who is drug dependent or has a physical disability that could affect the safe operation of a gun cannot own a gun under New Jersey law.
Being charged with a gun crime or other weapons charge in New Jersey can be quite scary. Know your rights ahead of time so you can avoid situations that could lead to charges being filed against you. If not, it is always a good idea to seek the counsel of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Source: Findlaw, “New Jersey Gun Control Laws,” accessed March 03, 2017